About this machine

The notch housed the projector and infrared camera that made face recognition work, and set the shape of every iPhone for years afterward. It was also the first iPhone to reach a thousand dollars.

Configuration

64 GB model

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Apple iPhone X CPU Main CPU 1 2.39 GHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone X GPU GPU 1 unknown Nominal clock
Apple iPhone X unified memory Unified memory 1 3 GiB shared

256 GB model

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Apple iPhone X CPU Main CPU 1 2.39 GHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone X GPU GPU 1 unknown Nominal clock
Apple iPhone X unified memory Unified memory 1 3 GiB shared

Figures for the whole machine

Apple iPhone X: system figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional 2.39 GHz Rumored Vendor-rated Nominal clock From community documentation Apple names the chip and states no frequency. Wikipedia gives 2.39 GHz for the two performance cores; the four efficiency cores of the same processor run slower, so this is the fast half of an asymmetric design rather than one clock for the phone. It is carried as rumored.
Storage capacity storage 256 GB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way.
Storage capacity storage 64 GB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way.
Memory capacity whole-system provisional 3 GiB Reported Measured Design capacity Stated by the vendor iFixit reports 3 GiB in the A11 package. Apple lists flash storage rather than working memory.
4 documented absences
Apple iPhone X: system figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency gpu unknown Apple gives no GPU operating frequency in the cited technical specification. Not stated Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor Apple gives no GPU operating frequency in the cited technical specification.
Peak FP32 rate gpu unknown Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU.
Memory bandwidth whole-system unknown Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone.
Rated power consumption whole-system unknown Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating.

Editorial notes

Flash capacity and charger ratings are recorded as the quantities they are, and never stand in for working memory or whole-system power.

Sources

Back to top