Smartphone
Apple iPhone 4
Apple's first in-house A4, PowerVR SGX535 graphics, a glass-and-steel body and the Retina display that made pixel density a selling point.
- Manufacturer
- Apple
- Released
- June 2010
- Region
- Worldwide
- Record status
- approved
An iPhone 4, model A1332, switched off.
About this machine
The stainless frame doubled as the antenna, which is why holding the phone across its lower left corner could drop a call. Apple replaced the plastic back with glass on both faces, and spent the next decade dealing with the consequences.
Configuration
16 GB model
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple iPhone 4 CPU | Main CPU | 1 | 800 MHz Estimate from a stated formula | — |
| Apple iPhone 4 GPU | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 4 unified memory | Unified memory | 1 | — | 512 MiB shared |
32 GB model
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple iPhone 4 CPU | Main CPU | 1 | 800 MHz Estimate from a stated formula | — |
| Apple iPhone 4 GPU | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 4 unified memory | Unified memory | 1 | — | 512 MiB shared |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 800 MHz | Reported | Estimated | Estimate from a stated formula Stated by the vendor AnandTech estimates 800 MHz for the A4. Apple does not publish a clock, so this remains reported. | |
| Storage capacity storage | 16 GB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way. | |
| Storage capacity storage | 32 GB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way. | |
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | 512 MiB | Reported | Measured | Design capacity Stated by the vendor AnandTech reports 512 MiB on the A4 package. Apple lists flash storage rather than working memory. |
4 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu | unknown Apple gives no GPU operating frequency in the cited technical specification. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor Apple gives no GPU operating frequency in the cited technical specification. | |
| Peak FP32 rate gpu | unknown Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU. | |
| Memory bandwidth whole-system | unknown Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone. | |
| Rated power consumption whole-system | unknown Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating. |
Editorial notes
Flash capacity and charger ratings are recorded as the quantities they are, and never stand in for working memory or whole-system power.