Smartphone
Apple iPhone 3GS
The S was for speed. Samsung's S5PC100 and PowerVR SGX535 graphics in the body of the 3G, plus a compass and the first iPhone that could record video.
- Manufacturer
- Apple
- Released
- June 2009
- Region
- Worldwide
- Record status
- approved
A white iPhone 3GS, 16 GB, seen from the back — the view the file's own page names, and the only one it offers of this machine.
About this machine
Apple's specification for the 3GS names the chip and lists what the phone was sold in, and gives no clock, no installed memory and no power rating. Apple has never published those for any iPhone; the figures this catalog holds for the first-generation phone came from a teardown.
Configuration
Retail hardware
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple iPhone 3GS CPU | Main CPU | 1 | 600 MHz Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 3GS GPU | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 3GS unified memory | Unified memory | 1 | — | unknown shared |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 600 MHz | Reported | Measured | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor AnandTech reports 600 MHz for the 3GS Cortex A8. Apple does not publish a clock, so one independent source leaves the figure reported. | |
| Storage capacity storage | 8 GB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way. |
5 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu | unknown Apple gives no GPU operating frequency in the cited technical specification. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor Apple gives no GPU operating frequency in the cited technical specification. | |
| Peak FP32 rate gpu | unknown Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU. | |
| Memory capacity whole-system | unknown Apple does not publish installed DRAM capacity; listed flash storage is not working memory. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor Apple does not publish installed DRAM capacity; listed flash storage is not working memory. | |
| Memory bandwidth whole-system | unknown Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone. | |
| Rated power consumption whole-system | unknown Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating. |
Editorial notes
Flash capacity and charger ratings are recorded as the quantities they are, and never stand in for working memory or whole-system power.