Smartphone
Apple iPhone 5s
The A7 doubled the processor's word size, taking phones there a year before the rest of the industry followed. Touch ID and a separate motion coprocessor arrived with it.
- Manufacturer
- Apple
- Released
- September 2013
- Region
- Worldwide
- Record status
- approved
A gold iPhone 5s, switched off, standing against the box it was sold in.
About this machine
Moving on word size ahead of the market caught competitors flat, and Qualcomm's answer did not ship until the following year. Touch ID mattered as much commercially: it made a passcode something people would actually set.
Configuration
16 GB model
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple iPhone 5s CPU | Main CPU | 1 | 1.3 GHz Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 5s GPU | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 5s unified memory | Unified memory | 1 | — | 1 GiB shared |
32 GB model
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple iPhone 5s CPU | Main CPU | 1 | 1.3 GHz Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 5s GPU | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 5s unified memory | Unified memory | 1 | — | 1 GiB shared |
64 GB model
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple iPhone 5s CPU | Main CPU | 1 | 1.3 GHz Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 5s GPU | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Apple iPhone 5s unified memory | Unified memory | 1 | — | 1 GiB shared |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 1.3 GHz | Rumored | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock From community documentation Apple names the chip and states no frequency. Wikipedia gives 1.3 GHz for the variant of the processor that shipped in this phone, and the catalog carries it as rumored. | |
| Storage capacity storage | 16 GB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way. | |
| Storage capacity storage | 32 GB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way. | |
| Storage capacity storage | 64 GB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way. | |
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | 1 GiB | Reported | Measured | Design capacity Stated by the vendor iFixit reports 1 GiB in the A7. Apple lists flash storage rather than working memory. |
4 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu | unknown Apple gives no GPU operating frequency in the cited technical specification. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor Apple gives no GPU operating frequency in the cited technical specification. | |
| Peak FP32 rate gpu | unknown Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU. | |
| Memory bandwidth whole-system | unknown Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone. | |
| Rated power consumption whole-system | unknown Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating. |
Editorial notes
Flash capacity and charger ratings are recorded as the quantities they are, and never stand in for working memory or whole-system power.