About this machine

Pressure sensing was dropped from later phones and replaced with a timed long press, which makes the 6s a rare case of iPhone hardware being removed rather than improved.

Configuration

16 GB model

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Apple iPhone 6s CPU Main CPU 1 1.85 GHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone 6s GPU GPU 1 650 MHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone 6s unified memory Unified memory 1 2 GiB shared

32 GB model

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Apple iPhone 6s CPU Main CPU 1 1.85 GHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone 6s GPU GPU 1 650 MHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone 6s unified memory Unified memory 1 2 GiB shared

64 GB model

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Apple iPhone 6s CPU Main CPU 1 1.85 GHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone 6s GPU GPU 1 650 MHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone 6s unified memory Unified memory 1 2 GiB shared

128 GB model

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Apple iPhone 6s CPU Main CPU 1 1.85 GHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone 6s GPU GPU 1 650 MHz Nominal clock
Apple iPhone 6s unified memory Unified memory 1 2 GiB shared

Figures for the whole machine

Apple iPhone 6s: system figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional 1.85 GHz Rumored Vendor-rated Nominal clock From community documentation Apple names the chip and states no frequency. Wikipedia gives 1.85 GHz for the processor as it runs in this phone, and the catalog carries it as rumored.
Clock frequency gpu provisional 650 MHz Rumored Vendor-rated Nominal clock From community documentation Apple states no graphics frequency. Wikipedia gives 650 MHz for the six-core graphics block of this chip, and the catalog carries it as rumored.
Storage capacity storage 128 GB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way.
Storage capacity storage 16 GB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way.
Storage capacity storage 32 GB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way.
Storage capacity storage 64 GB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor One of the flash capacities Apple lists for this phone. Storage, not memory. Apple states flash capacity decimally, the way makers of flash and disk do, and this catalog reads it that way.
Memory capacity whole-system provisional 2 GiB Reported Measured Design capacity Stated by the vendor iFixit reports 2 GiB in the A9. Apple lists flash storage rather than working memory.
3 documented absences
Apple iPhone 6s: system figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate gpu unknown Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes no standalone FP32 throughput figure for this phone GPU.
Memory bandwidth whole-system unknown Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Apple publishes neither a memory-interface width nor a memory transfer rate for this phone.
Rated power consumption whole-system unknown Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor Battery-life durations and charging limits are not a whole-system power rating.

Editorial notes

Flash capacity and charger ratings are recorded as the quantities they are, and never stand in for working memory or whole-system power.

Sources

Back to top