About this machine

This record keeps processor, graphics and installed memory as distinct components so that their quantities retain their own meaning. Nintendo published no frequency and no memory capacity for this console; the figures here are independent reporting, recorded beside the vendor's silence rather than instead of it.

Configuration

Retail hardware

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
IBM Espresso Main CPU 1 1.24 GHz Nominal clock
AMD Latte GPU 1 550 MHz Nominal clock
Nintendo Wii U unified memory Unified memory 1 2 GiB shared

Figures for the whole machine

Nintendo Wii U: system figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional 1.24 GHz Reported Vendor-rated Nominal clock Published independently The three PowerPC 750-derived cores of the shipped console. Provisional on the sourcing, and on an unusual chain the publication describes openly: the frequency was read out of the shipped console by a hacker and reported by one technical publication, which put it in its own headline. Nintendo has published nothing to check it against. It is recorded to two decimal places because the six the reading carries describe one machine on one day rather than the console.
Clock frequency gpu provisional 550 MHz Reported Vendor-rated Nominal clock Published independently The AMD-designed graphics core of the shipped console. From the same reading and the same single publication as the processor clock, and provisional for the same reason. The reading gives 549.999755 MHz; 550 MHz is what the publication states in its headline and all this figure is entitled to claim.
Memory bandwidth memory provisional 12.8 GB/s Rumored Theoretical Theoretical peak From community documentation Nintendo's specification table has no memory row at all. Wikipedia states 12.8 GB/s as the maximum bandwidth of the console's main memory, which the catalog carries as rumored.
Memory capacity whole-system provisional 2 147 483 648 B Reported Vendor-rated Design capacity Published independently Digital Foundry states this as the console's installed DDR3 capacity and identifies the four fitted modules.
2 documented absences
Nintendo Wii U: system figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate gpu unknown Nintendo's specification table states no floating-point rate, and names no precision anywhere. Not stated Theoretical Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Nintendo has never published a floating-point rate for this console at any precision, and the graphics frequency such a rate would be built from is not Nintendo's either.
Rated power consumption whole-system unknown Nintendo's specification table states dimensions, mass, storage, ports and video output, and no power rating. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor The console predates the European ecodesign disclosures that give this catalog the Switch's rating, and Nintendo's specification table states no electrical figure of any kind. The wattages that circulate are supply ratings and metered draws from third parties, which are two other quantities again.

Figures for its components

Nintendo Wii U unified memory

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity memory provisional 2 GiB Reported Vendor-rated Design capacity Published independently Four DDR3-1600 modules as fitted to the shipped console. Not Nintendo's figure: its specification table has no memory row at all, and lists only the console's flash storage. One technical publication states the capacity together with the four parts it is made of, which is one source short of approval.

Sources

Back to top