Figures

Intel 80286: recorded figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu 12.5 MHz Confirmed Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor Intel's speed-grade table lists three variants. This reference configuration uses the fastest one; it is not a single, named PC model.
Dhrystone MIPS per MHz cpu provisional 0.135 DMIPS/MHz Reported Measured Benchmark run Published independently dhrystone 2.1 A named historic Dhrystone 2.1 result, normalized by the run clock; the one-source result remains provisional.
3 documented absences
Intel 80286: recorded figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional not applicable The 80286 predates dynamic turbo modes. Not stated Vendor-rated Peak clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional not applicable The 80286 has no integrated floating-point unit; an 80287 would be a separately fitted coprocessor. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Thermal design power cpu provisional unknown The absence is real and now documented, and this is the one period x86 part whose datasheet does print a wattage: 3.3 W. It prints it under ABSOLUTE MAXIMUM RATINGS, beside a warning that these are stress ratings only and that operation beyond the Operating Conditions is not recommended — a limit past which the part is damaged, not a target a cooling solution is designed to. The operating specification for what this processor consumes is a current: 600 mA maximum at a 0°C turn-on. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor Kept unknown deliberately rather than for want of a document. Recording 3.3 W here would publish an absolute-maximum stress rating as a thermal design power, which is the same error as reading a power-supply rating off a nameplate and calling it a draw. The figure is not even independent of the current beside it — 600 mA at the top of the 5 V ±5% tolerance is 3.15 W — so it is that ceiling rounded up. Anyone who quotes 3.3 W for an 80286 is quoting this line.

Fitted to

Sources

Back to top