Figures

Intel 80386DX: recorded figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional 25 MHz Confirmed Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Dhrystone MIPS per MHz cpu provisional 0.31 DMIPS/MHz Reported Measured Benchmark run Published independently dhrystone 2.1 A named historic Dhrystone 2.1 result, normalized by the run clock; the one-source result remains provisional.
3 documented absences
Intel 80386DX: recorded figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional not applicable The 80386DX predates dynamic turbo modes. Not stated Vendor-rated Peak clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional not applicable The 80386DX has no integrated floating-point unit; an 80387 would be a separate coprocessor. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Thermal design power cpu provisional unknown The absence is real and now documented. The datasheet's DC characteristics specify a supply current for each speed grade — 320 mA maximum against 240 mA typical for the 25 MHz part — and no power figure. The current is quoted against a 50 MHz CLK2 input, which is twice the processor's own frequency, so even the inputs to an unauthorized derivation are easy to misread. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor Checked against the part's own datasheet rather than against a general history. What Intel published for this generation is an electrical limit, not a thermal-design target, and the two are different quantities however similar the arithmetic looks.

Fitted to

Sources

Back to top