Figures

Intel Pentium: recorded figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional 100 MHz Confirmed Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Dhrystone MIPS per MHz cpu provisional 1.10 DMIPS/MHz Reported Measured Benchmark run Published independently dhrystone 2.1 A named historic Dhrystone 2.1 result, normalized by the run clock; the one-source result remains provisional.
Thermal design power cpu 10.1 W Confirmed Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor Maximum active power dissipation at 100 MHz, VCC = 3.3 V, worst-case instruction mix; the datasheet's typical in-system figure for the same part is 3.9 W. Intel's word for this in 1997 was not "thermal design power" but "maximum active power dissipation", the figure the datasheet says a system must be designed to remove. It is the same design target the later term names, and it is recorded here as such, but it is defined by a worst-case instruction mix rather than a reproducible workload, so it sits at the top of what the part draws rather than in the middle. The 3.9 W typical on the same row is an average measured in one system and is not a specification.
2 documented absences
Intel Pentium: recorded figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional not applicable The original Pentium predates dynamic turbo modes. Not stated Vendor-rated Peak clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional unknown The processor includes a floating-point unit, but the cited specification does not publish an FP32 peak in FLOP/s. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.

Fitted to

Sources

Back to top