Processor
Intel 80486DX
A 32 bit x86 processor integrating an x87 floating-point unit and an on-chip cache in the DX variant.
- Manufacturer
- Intel
- Architecture
- 80486
- Introduced
- April 1989
- Word size
- 32 bit
- Core count
- 1
- Instruction set
- Intel 80486
- Record status
- provisional
Figures
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 33 MHz | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Dhrystone MIPS per MHz cpu provisional | 0.79 DMIPS/MHz | Reported | Measured | Benchmark run Published independently dhrystone 2.1 A named historic Dhrystone 2.1 result, normalized by the run clock; the one-source result remains provisional. |
3 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | not applicable The 80486DX predates dynamic turbo modes. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Peak clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional | unknown The 80486DX integrates an x87 unit, but the cited documentation does not state an FP32 peak rate in FLOP/s. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Thermal design power cpu provisional | unknown The absence is real and now documented. The datasheet's DC specifications give supply current in milliamps — typically 700 mA at 33 MHz — and state no wattage anywhere; the Absolute Maximum Ratings beside them cover temperature and voltage only. Multiplying current by the supply voltage would produce a watt figure Intel never published, from a typical rather than a design maximum. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor Checked against the part's own datasheet rather than against a general history. Intel specified this processor electrically, not thermally, so there is no figure to find: the maximum currents are on the page but not in its text layer, the scan's columns having detached from their rows, and even those are currents rather than a cooling-design target. |