Personal computer
Intel 80286 PC
A representative 12.5 MHz 80286 desktop configuration with 512 KiB of DRAM and a period display adapter.
- Manufacturer
- PC industry
- Released
- 1982
- Region
- Worldwide
- Record status
- provisional
Configuration
12.5 MHz reference configuration
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intel 80286 | Main CPU | 1 | 12.5 MHz Nominal clock not applicable Peak clock | — |
| IBM PC display adapter | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Early PC dynamic RAM | System memory | 1 | — | 512 KiB |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | 512 KiB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. |
Figures for its components
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu | 12.5 MHz | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor Intel's speed-grade table lists three variants. This reference configuration uses the fastest one; it is not a single, named PC model. | |
| Dhrystone MIPS per MHz cpu provisional | 0.135 DMIPS/MHz | Reported | Measured | Benchmark run Published independently dhrystone 2.1 A named historic Dhrystone 2.1 result, normalized by the run clock; the one-source result remains provisional. |
3 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | not applicable The 80286 predates dynamic turbo modes. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Peak clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional | not applicable The 80286 has no integrated floating-point unit; an 80287 would be a separately fitted coprocessor. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Thermal design power cpu provisional | unknown The absence is real and now documented, and this is the one period x86 part whose datasheet does print a wattage: 3.3 W. It prints it under ABSOLUTE MAXIMUM RATINGS, beside a warning that these are stress ratings only and that operation beyond the Operating Conditions is not recommended — a limit past which the part is damaged, not a target a cooling solution is designed to. The operating specification for what this processor consumes is a current: 600 mA maximum at a 0°C turn-on. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor Kept unknown deliberately rather than for want of a document. Recording 3.3 W here would publish an absolute-maximum stress rating as a thermal design power, which is the same error as reading a power-supply rating off a nameplate and calling it a draw. The figure is not even independent of the current beside it — 600 mA at the top of the 5 V ±5% tolerance is 3.15 W — so it is that ceiling rounded up. Anyone who quotes 3.3 W for an 80286 is quoting this line. |
2 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu provisional | unknown MDA and CGA boards use distinct timing crystals; this display-adapter class has no one GPU clock. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional | not applicable These raster and text display adapters have no floating-point execution hardware. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. |
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory bandwidth memory provisional | unknown The cited processor documentation does not specify a sustained or peak byte-transfer rate for the chosen early-PC memory configurations. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. |
Editorial notes
This entry has no photograph, and that is a decision rather than a gap: it describes a processor in a typical machine of its era rather than a model anybody sold, so there is no object to photograph. A picture of some particular case would attach a claim about that computer to a record which deliberately makes none.