Personal computer
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 PC
A representative Core 2 Duo E6600 desktop configuration with integrated graphics; Intel's surviving family table does not fix an E6600-specific clock or fitted RAM capacity.
- Manufacturer
- PC industry
- Released
- July 2006
- Region
- Worldwide
- Record status
- provisional
Configuration
Reference configuration with unresolved clock and RAM
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Main CPU | 1 | 2.4 GHz Nominal clock not applicable Peak clock | — |
| Intel integrated processor graphics | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — shared |
| PC DDR SDRAM | System memory | 1 | — | unknown shared |
Figures for the whole machine
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | unknown Intel's 64 GB addressability field does not establish a fitted capacity for this reference PC. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. |
Figures for its components
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 2.4 GHz | Rumored | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock From community documentation Intel's own datasheet for this part is not in the catalog. Wikipedia gives 2.4 GHz for this model, and the catalog carries it as rumored. | |
| Dhrystone MIPS per MHz cpu provisional | 3.5 DMIPS/MHz | Reported | Measured | Benchmark run Published independently dhrystone 2.1 A named Dhrystone 2.1 result normalized by the clock stated for that run. It remains provisional pending a second independent source. | |
| Thermal design power cpu provisional | 65 W | Rumored | Vendor-rated | Rated power From community documentation Intel's own datasheet for this part is not in the catalog. Wikipedia states 65 W for the family this model belongs to rather than for the model alone, so it is carried as rumored. |
2 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | not applicable The E6600 predates Intel Turbo Boost. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Peak clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional | unknown The processor supports scalar and SIMD floating point, but the cited specification does not state an FP32 peak in FLOP/s. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. |
2 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu provisional | unknown Intel states a frequency for each generation and the generations disagree: Intel HD Graphics 3000 on the Core i7-2600K is specified at 850 MHz base and 1.35 GHz maximum dynamic, UHD Graphics 770 on the Core i9-14900K at 300 MHz base and 1.65 GHz maximum dynamic. Both figures are vendor statements and neither can stand for the other. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor This is a documented absence rather than an unexamined one. Two vendor specification records were read for the machines fitted with this component, and they answer the question differently in both directions: the older part has the higher base clock and the lower ceiling. What is missing is not a document but a component: the entry would need splitting into the named graphics devices, and the Core 2 Duo platform's chipset graphics is a third device the processor's own name does not identify. | |
| Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional | unknown Intel's specification record for the newest of these graphics devices states an execution-unit count of 32 and no floating-point rate at any precision. An execution-unit count is not a rate: converting one to the other needs a published figure for floating-point operations per unit per clock, which the specification does not give. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor A documented absence. The vendor record was read and states the unit count without the per-unit throughput that would turn it into a rate, and the component in any case spans graphics generations with different clocks, so one answer could not describe them even if the throughput were published. |
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory bandwidth memory provisional | unknown One of the three machines fitted with this component can be documented and the component cannot: Intel rates the Core i7-2600K's dual-channel DDR3-1333 interface at 21 GB/s. The same component also stands for the Pentium 4's DDR and the Core 2 Duo E6600's DDR2, which are different standards at different transfer rates, so the one figure available describes a third of the component. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor A documented absence, and a demonstration of what would fix it. A vendor rating exists for one member; recording it here would silently give the Pentium 4 and Core 2 Duo platforms a DDR3 bandwidth. The entry needs splitting per memory generation before any of the three can be answered. |
Editorial notes
This entry has no photograph, and that is a decision rather than a gap: it describes a processor in a typical machine of its era rather than a model anybody sold, so there is no object to photograph. A picture of some particular case would attach a claim about that computer to a record which deliberately makes none.