Configuration

3.40 GHz base / 3.80 GHz turbo reference configuration

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Intel Core i7-2600K Main CPU 1 3.40 GHz Nominal clock 3.80 GHz Peak clock
Intel integrated processor graphics GPU 1 unknown Nominal clock shared
PC DDR SDRAM System memory 1 8 GiB shared

Figures for the whole machine

Intel Core i7-2600K PC: system figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity whole-system provisional 8 GiB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.

Figures for its components

Intel Core i7-2600K

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional 3.40 GHz Confirmed Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Clock frequency cpu provisional 3.80 GHz Confirmed Vendor-rated Peak clock Stated by the vendor Maximum Intel Turbo Boost Technology 2.0 frequency, not a continuously held base frequency. This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
Dhrystone MIPS per MHz cpu provisional 4.6 DMIPS/MHz Reported Measured Benchmark run Published independently dhrystone 2.1 A named Dhrystone 2.1 result normalized by the clock stated for that run. It remains provisional pending a second independent source.
Thermal design power cpu provisional 95 W Confirmed Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
1 documented absence
Intel Core i7-2600K: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional unknown The cited product table gives cores, clock and power, not a single-precision peak rate. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration.
2 documented absences
Intel integrated processor graphics: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency gpu provisional unknown Intel states a frequency for each generation and the generations disagree: Intel HD Graphics 3000 on the Core i7-2600K is specified at 850 MHz base and 1.35 GHz maximum dynamic, UHD Graphics 770 on the Core i9-14900K at 300 MHz base and 1.65 GHz maximum dynamic. Both figures are vendor statements and neither can stand for the other. Not stated Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor This is a documented absence rather than an unexamined one. Two vendor specification records were read for the machines fitted with this component, and they answer the question differently in both directions: the older part has the higher base clock and the lower ceiling. What is missing is not a document but a component: the entry would need splitting into the named graphics devices, and the Core 2 Duo platform's chipset graphics is a third device the processor's own name does not identify.
Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional unknown Intel's specification record for the newest of these graphics devices states an execution-unit count of 32 and no floating-point rate at any precision. An execution-unit count is not a rate: converting one to the other needs a published figure for floating-point operations per unit per clock, which the specification does not give. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor A documented absence. The vendor record was read and states the unit count without the per-unit throughput that would turn it into a rate, and the component in any case spans graphics generations with different clocks, so one answer could not describe them even if the throughput were published.
1 documented absence
PC DDR SDRAM: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory bandwidth memory provisional unknown One of the three machines fitted with this component can be documented and the component cannot: Intel rates the Core i7-2600K's dual-channel DDR3-1333 interface at 21 GB/s. The same component also stands for the Pentium 4's DDR and the Core 2 Duo E6600's DDR2, which are different standards at different transfer rates, so the one figure available describes a third of the component. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor A documented absence, and a demonstration of what would fix it. A vendor rating exists for one member; recording it here would silently give the Pentium 4 and Core 2 Duo platforms a DDR3 bandwidth. The entry needs splitting per memory generation before any of the three can be answered.

Editorial notes

This entry has no photograph, and that is a decision rather than a gap: it describes a processor in a typical machine of its era rather than a model anybody sold, so there is no object to photograph. A picture of some particular case would attach a claim about that computer to a record which deliberately makes none.

Sources

Back to top