Personal computer
Intel Core i9-14900K PC
A representative Core i9-14900K desktop configuration with 32 GiB of DDR5 SDRAM and integrated UHD Graphics 770.
- Manufacturer
- PC industry
- Released
- October 2023
- Region
- Worldwide
- Record status
- provisional
Configuration
P-core 3.2 GHz base / 6.0 GHz turbo reference configuration
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intel Core i9-14900K P-core base frequency; the E-core base frequency is 2.4 GHz. | Main CPU | 1 | 3.2 GHz Nominal clock 6.0 GHz Peak clock | — |
| Intel integrated processor graphics | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — shared |
| PC DDR5 SDRAM | System memory | 1 | — | 32 GiB shared |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | 32 GiB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. |
Figures for its components
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu · performance cores provisional | 3.2 GHz | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor P-core base frequency; the E-core base frequency is 2.4 GHz. This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Clock frequency cpu · performance cores provisional | 6.0 GHz | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Peak clock Stated by the vendor P-core maximum Intel Thermal Velocity Boost frequency; it requires thermal and power headroom. This figure remains provisional until the cited source is corroborated for the exact configuration. | |
| Dhrystone MIPS per MHz cpu provisional | 6.1 DMIPS/MHz | Reported | Measured | Benchmark run Published independently dhrystone 2.1 A named Dhrystone 2.1 result normalized by the clock stated for that run. It remains provisional pending a second independent source. | |
| Thermal design power cpu provisional | 125 W | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor 125 W Processor Base Power; Intel specifies up to 253 W Maximum Turbo Power. Intel calls this Processor Base Power. The separate 253 W Maximum Turbo Power is a limit, not a wall-power measurement, so it is retained in the conditions rather than recorded as system power draw. |
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional | unknown Intel does publish a floating-point rate for this processor — 1228.8 GFLOPS, in the export-compliance matrix it maintains for the US Export Administration Regulations — and states no precision for it anywhere in that document. Without a precision the figure cannot answer a single-precision question, and it cannot be assumed to be one: the same 1228.8 is listed for the faster-clocked 14900KS. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor The rarest kind of gap: not a missing number but a number missing the one qualifier that would make it comparable. Intel's export filing answers a question its product specification never touches, and then leaves the precision unstated across all twenty-four pages. Recording it as an FP32 peak would be a guess about which precision Intel meant, and the catalog does not publish those. |
2 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu provisional | unknown Intel states a frequency for each generation and the generations disagree: Intel HD Graphics 3000 on the Core i7-2600K is specified at 850 MHz base and 1.35 GHz maximum dynamic, UHD Graphics 770 on the Core i9-14900K at 300 MHz base and 1.65 GHz maximum dynamic. Both figures are vendor statements and neither can stand for the other. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor This is a documented absence rather than an unexamined one. Two vendor specification records were read for the machines fitted with this component, and they answer the question differently in both directions: the older part has the higher base clock and the lower ceiling. What is missing is not a document but a component: the entry would need splitting into the named graphics devices, and the Core 2 Duo platform's chipset graphics is a third device the processor's own name does not identify. | |
| Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional | unknown Intel's specification record for the newest of these graphics devices states an execution-unit count of 32 and no floating-point rate at any precision. An execution-unit count is not a rate: converting one to the other needs a published figure for floating-point operations per unit per clock, which the specification does not give. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor A documented absence. The vendor record was read and states the unit count without the per-unit throughput that would turn it into a rate, and the component in any case spans graphics generations with different clocks, so one answer could not describe them even if the throughput were published. |
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory bandwidth memory | 89.6 GB/s | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Two channels of DDR5-5600 as rated for the Core i9-14900K memory controller. Intel's rating of the Core i9-14900K's memory interface, not a property of any fitted module and not a measurement of traffic across it. It describes the faster of the two memory types that processor accepts: the same specification offers DDR4-3200, at which the interface reaches less. This is the one component in the x86 line whose figure is safe to state, because only one machine in the catalog is fitted with it. The DDR, DDR2 and DDR3 components shared across earlier machines have no equivalent single answer. |
Editorial notes
This entry has no photograph, and that is a decision rather than a gap: it describes a processor in a typical machine of its era rather than a model anybody sold, so there is no object to photograph. A picture of some particular case would attach a claim about that computer to a record which deliberately makes none.
Sources
- Intel Core desktop processors, 14th generation, quick reference guide
- PDS: The Performance Database Server — Dhrystone
- APP Metrics for Intel® Microprocessors — Intel® Core™ Processors, Revision 8
- Intel® Core™ i7-2600K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.80 GHz) — Specifications
- Intel® Core™ i9 processor 14900K (36M Cache, up to 6.00 GHz) — Specifications