About this machine

The GBA carries a second, older processor alongside the ARM, so Game Boy cartridges run on the silicon they were written for. The compatibility is in the hardware, and a Game Boy game is not being emulated when it runs here.

Configuration

Original retail handheld

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
ARM7TDMI Main CPU 1 16 MHz Nominal clock —
Game Boy Advance PPU GPU 1 unknown Nominal clock —
Game Boy Advance writable RAM System memory 1 — 288 KiB
Game Boy Advance video RAM Sits inside the system on a chip alongside the picture processor, separate from the two work-RAM banks. Video memory 1 — 96 KiB

Figures for the whole machine

Game Boy Advance: system figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional 16 MHz Reported Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor Nintendo's AGB programming manual states a rounded 16 MHz CPU figure.
5 documented absences
Game Boy Advance: system figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency gpu provisional unknown The reviewed manual gives no independent graphics clock. Not stated Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The AGB Programming Manual states the ARM7TDMI system clock and display timings, but not an independent graphics-clock frequency.
Memory bandwidth memory provisional unknown The reviewed manual gives no memory bandwidth or bus width. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor The AGB Programming Manual documents wait states and DMA behavior but does not state a memory-bus width or a bandwidth figure.
Storage capacity storage provisional not applicable Game cartridges are removable media and their ROM capacity varies by title; no cartridge capacity is part of the base console. Not stated Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor
Memory capacity whole-system provisional unknown The handheld's work RAM and video RAM are both known only from tier C material. Adding them would rest a new number on that material, which this catalog does not do. Not stated Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor Both terms of the total are rumored. The catalog displays a rumored figure but does not compute with one, so the total waits for a document that states a capacity outright.
Rated power consumption whole-system provisional unknown Nintendo rates an AC-DC adapter for this handheld at 3 V, 300 mA, but it is an accessory bought separately and the machine ships running on two AA cells. A rating for a power source most units never used is not the console’s rated consumption, and Nintendo publishes no figure for the handheld itself. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor Provisional and unknown after checking: the only wattage reachable belongs to an optional accessory rather than to the machine as sold.

Figures for its components

1 documented absence
ARM7TDMI: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional not applicable This console CPU has no integrated floating-point execution unit. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for game-boy-advance: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending.
1 documented absence
Game Boy Advance PPU: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional not applicable This is a tile, sprite or scanline graphics unit, not a floating-point processor; it executes no FP32 operations. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for game-boy-advance: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending.
Game Boy Advance writable RAM

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity memory provisional 288 KiB Rumored Vendor-rated Design capacity From community documentation Nintendo's verified AGB manual passage states no internal-RAM capacity. Wikipedia gives 288 KiB, the sum of the handheld's two work-RAM banks, separate from the video RAM beside them, which the catalog records separately.
Game Boy Advance video RAM

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity memory provisional 96 KiB Reported Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor The manual's broad display-memory diagram includes palette and object-attribute memory. Its memory map isolates the video-RAM pool measured here.

Editorial notes

Game Pak ROM is removable storage and remains outside whole-system writable memory.

Sources

Back to top