Handheld
Nintendo DS
A handheld with two screens, the lower one a touch panel, plus a microphone and a wireless radio. Its display engines draw tiles and sprites in the manner of the Game Boy Advance.
- Manufacturer
- Nintendo
- Released
- November 2004
- Region
- North America
- Record status
- provisional
A first-generation Nintendo DS, opened, with both screens off.
About this machine
Nintendo introduced the DS as a third line beside the Game Boy rather than its replacement, and hedged by fitting a Game Boy Advance cartridge slot and the processor needed to use it. The hedge stopped being necessary quickly.
Configuration
Original retail handheld
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARM946E-S The ARM7 companion is a separate processor and is not represented by a summed frequency. | Main CPU | 1 | 67 MHz Nominal clock | — |
| Nintendo DS 2D engines | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Nintendo DS main RAM | System memory | 1 | — | 4096 KiB shared |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 67 MHz | Rumored | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock From community documentation The reviewed technical reference states no processor clock. Wikipedia gives 67 MHz for the main ARM946E-S, the faster of the console's two processors, and the catalog carries it as rumored. | |
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | 4096 KiB | Reported | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Published independently The whole-system total is the documented base main-RAM capacity; it excludes the separately addressed work, video and cache memories. |
4 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu provisional | unknown The reviewed technical reference describes the graphics units but does not publish one standalone GPU clock. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The reviewed technical reference describes Game Card addressing, while the base console has no fixed cartridge capacity. | |
| Memory bandwidth memory provisional | unknown The reviewed reference gives no main-memory transfer-rate figure. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor The technical reference documents memory maps and timings, but does not state a main-memory transfer rate from which bandwidth can be stated. | |
| Storage capacity storage provisional | not applicable Game cartridges are removable media and their ROM capacity varies by title; no cartridge capacity is part of the base console. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor | |
| Rated power consumption whole-system provisional | unknown The reviewed reference gives no whole-system power rating. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor The technical reference documents power-management hardware but gives no whole-system power rating. |
Figures for its components
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional | not applicable This console CPU has no integrated floating-point execution unit. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for nintendo-ds: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending. |
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional | not applicable This is a tile, sprite or scanline graphics unit, not a floating-point processor; it executes no FP32 operations. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for nintendo-ds: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending. |
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity memory provisional | 4096 KiB | Reported | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor The technical reference lists the base system's main RAM capacity. |
Editorial notes
Nintendo DS Game Card ROM is removable storage, excluded from whole-system working memory.