About this machine

NVIDIA's 2005 architecture chapter documents its clock and memory interface, not the April 2004 reference-card capacity or a board-power rating. The catalog does not turn its pipeline description into a FLOPS figure.

Configuration

Reference card

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
NVIDIA GeForce 6 (NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra) NVIDIA GPU Gems 2 / 2005 configuration, not an April 2004 launch-reference clock. GPU 1 425 MHz Nominal clock
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra frame buffer Video memory 1 unknown

Figures for the whole machine

NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra: system figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory bandwidth whole-system provisional 35 GB/s Confirmed Derived Theoretical peak Computed here from figures the vendor stated Adds the one fitted frame-buffer bandwidth. No host memory is included.

Figures for its components

NVIDIA GeForce 6 (NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra)

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency gpu provisional 425 MHz Confirmed Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The reference-card graphics clock.
2 documented absences
NVIDIA GeForce 6 (NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra): documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional unknown The cited vendor material states no FP32 peak in FLOP/s. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Programmable shaders do not authorize a catalog-side FLOPS estimate without a published operation count.
Thermal design power gpu provisional unknown No numeric graphics-card or board-power rating appears in the recovered qualifying NVIDIA documents. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor The recovered NVIDIA material does not state a numeric board-power or thermal-design rating.
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra frame buffer

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory bandwidth memory provisional 35 GB/s Confirmed Theoretical Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Vendor-stated maximum transfer rate of this memory interface, not a benchmarked application result.
1 documented absence
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra frame buffer: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity whole-system provisional unknown NVIDIA's release notes establish only that a 512 MB Ultra variant existed; the recovered material does not establish the launch-reference capacity. Not stated Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor The recovered NVIDIA material documents a 512 MB later variant, not the April 2004 reference-card capacity.

Derived figures and comparisons

Computed by this project rather than read from a source, and recomputed from their inputs on every build.

35 000 000 000 B/s

Formula
a + b + … sum v1
Inputs
  • nvidia-geforce-6800-ultra-memory Memory bandwidth: 35 GB/s
Rounding
none , 12 significant digits

Adds 1 memory-bandwidth figure obtained by theoretical-peak. Nothing in the catalog is left out of it. A total is only as trustworthy as the decision about what belongs in it, so both the terms and the exclusions are named records.

Editorial notes

The cited chapter documents a 2005 configuration. It does not establish the April 2004 reference-card memory capacity.

Sources

Back to top