Console
SNK Neo Geo AES
A 12 MHz 68000 console with 64 KiB work RAM and a sprite-focused video controller.
- Manufacturer
- SNK
- Released
- April 1990
- Region
- Japan
- Record status
- provisional
The Neo Geo AES beside the arcade stick sold with it, which is very nearly as large as the console.
About this machine
This is SNK's AES home console configuration. It brings the Neo Geo's sprite-oriented hardware into the catalog beside other cartridge consoles of its era.
Configuration
AES retail console
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motorola 68000 | Main CPU | 1 | 12 MHz Nominal clock | — |
| SNK LSPC2-A2 | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Neo Geo AES work RAM | System memory | 1 | — | 64 KiB |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 12 MHz | Reported | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor Provisional record for snk-neo-geo-aes: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending. | |
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | 65 536 B | Reported | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor The hardware specification states this work-RAM capacity for the console. Removable cartridge ROM is program storage and is not included. |
4 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu provisional | unknown The reviewed manual gives no graphics clock. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The Neo-Geo Hardware Specification identifies the LSPC and LSPC2 but gives no graphics-clock frequency. | |
| Memory bandwidth memory provisional | unknown The reviewed manual gives no memory bandwidth or bus width. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor The Neo-Geo Hardware Specification documents VRAM access timing but no transfer rate or bus-width figure from which bandwidth can be stated. | |
| Storage capacity storage provisional | not applicable Game cartridges are removable media and their ROM capacity varies by title; no cartridge capacity is part of the base console. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor | |
| Rated power consumption whole-system provisional | unknown The reviewed manual gives no whole-system power rating. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor The Neo-Geo Hardware Specification describes the console's processors and memory, but no whole-system power rating. |
Figures for its components
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional | not applicable This console CPU has no integrated floating-point execution unit. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for snk-neo-geo-aes: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending. |
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional | not applicable This is a tile, sprite or scanline graphics unit, not a floating-point processor; it executes no FP32 operations. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for snk-neo-geo-aes: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending. |
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity memory provisional | 64 KiB | Reported | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor Provisional record for snk-neo-geo-aes: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending. |
Editorial notes
AES cartridges are removable storage, excluded from whole-system writable memory.