About this machine

NEC and Hudson Soft divided the work, Hudson designing the processor and video hardware and NEC building and selling the machine. It sits awkwardly between console generations, pairing a processor from the earlier one with graphics that outclassed everything sold beside it.

Configuration

Japanese retail console

Japan

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Hudson Soft HuC6280 Main CPU 1 7.16 MHz Nominal clock
Hudson Soft HuC6270 VDC GPU 1 unknown Nominal clock
PC Engine work RAM System memory 1 8 KiB
PC Engine video RAM Attached to the HuC6270; the processor reaches it through the display controller's address and data registers. Video memory 1 64 KiB

Figures for the whole machine

NEC PC Engine: system figures

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu provisional 7.16 MHz Confirmed Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The HuC6280 can switch speed; this is the cited high-speed PC Engine mode.
5 documented absences
NEC PC Engine: system figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency gpu provisional unknown The reviewed system-outline manual gives no graphics clock. Not stated Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The system-outline manual describes the VDC and VCE roles but gives no graphics-clock frequency.
Memory bandwidth memory provisional unknown The reviewed system-outline manual gives no memory bandwidth or bus width. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor The system-outline manual describes VRAM use with the VDC but gives no bus width or transfer rate.
Storage capacity storage provisional not applicable Game cartridges are removable media and their ROM capacity varies by title; no cartridge capacity is part of the base console. Not stated Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor
Memory capacity whole-system provisional unknown The console's work RAM and video RAM are both known only from tier C material. Adding them would rest a new number on that material, which this catalog does not do. Not stated Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor Both terms of the total are rumored. The catalog displays a rumored figure but does not compute with one, so the total waits for a document that states a capacity outright.
Rated power consumption whole-system provisional unknown The reviewed system-outline manual gives no whole-system power rating. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor The system-outline manual states an IC supply requirement, not a power rating for the retail console.

Figures for its components

1 documented absence
Hudson Soft HuC6280: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional not applicable This console CPU has no integrated floating-point execution unit. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for nec-pc-engine: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending.
1 documented absence
Hudson Soft HuC6270 VDC: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate gpu provisional not applicable This is a tile, sprite or scanline graphics unit, not a floating-point processor; it executes no FP32 operations. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for nec-pc-engine: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending.
PC Engine work RAM

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity memory provisional 8 KiB Rumored Vendor-rated Design capacity From community documentation NEC's verified system outline states no RAM capacity. Wikipedia gives 8 KiB of work RAM, which is separate from the video RAM the console also carries and which the catalog records separately.
PC Engine video RAM

provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.

Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity memory provisional 64 KiB Rumored Vendor-rated Design capacity From community documentation NEC's verified system outline states no video-RAM capacity. Wikipedia's infobox and hardware paragraph both give 64 KiB, and the catalog carries it as rumored until an NEC document states it.

Editorial notes

HuCards are removable program storage and excluded from the memory total.

Sources

Back to top