Figures

2 documented absences
MOS Technology 6510: recorded figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Native instruction rate cpu unknown No acceptable source states one, and there is no single correct answer to state: 6502 instructions take between two and seven cycles depending on the instruction and its addressing mode, so an instruction rate exists only for a specific mix of instructions. Dividing the clock by one cycle per instruction — the usual shortcut to "about 1 MIPS" — describes no real workload. Not stated Measured Instruction mix Stated by the vendor
Peak FP32 rate cpu not applicable No floating-point hardware. The 6510 does decimal and binary integer arithmetic in an eight-bit accumulator; the Commodore 64's floating point is a software library in the BASIC ROM, which is not a property of the processor. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor

Fitted to

Editorial notes

56 instructions, thirteen addressing modes, decimal and binary arithmetic, an eight-bit data bus and a sixteen-bit address bus. The part is rated for 1 MHz and 2 MHz operation, which is a speed grade rather than the rate any particular machine clocks it at.

Sources

Back to top