About this machine

The 5150's BIOS and Cassette BASIC live in ROM, so the record keeps the read-only capacity separate from base RAM and excludes it from whole-system writable memory.

Configuration

Original 16 KiB base configuration

United States

Component Role Count Clock Capacity
Intel 8088 Main CPU 1 4.77 MHz Nominal clock
IBM PC display adapter Representative display-adapter option; the system board has no fixed GPU. GPU 1 not applicable Nominal clock
IBM PC 5150 system RAM System memory 1 16 KiB
IBM PC 5150 firmware ROM Read-only BIOS and Cassette BASIC ROM. System memory 1 40 KiB

Figures for the whole machine

IBM Personal Computer 5150: system figures
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency cpu 4.77 MHz Confirmed Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor
Memory bandwidth memory 1.19 MB/s Confirmed Derived Theoretical peak Computed here from figures the vendor stated Divides bytes transferred by one processor memory cycle by the published memory cycle time. The result is an interface ceiling when a manual specifies nanoseconds per byte instead of a transfer rate. It is not measured application throughput: refresh, contention and wait states can consume cycles. Reported to 3 significant digits. That is the precision of the cycle time, because the bytes-per-cycle constant is exact.
Memory cycle time memory 840 ns Confirmed Vendor-rated Nominal cycle time Stated by the vendor One processor generated memory read or write cycle with Ready inactive.
Memory capacity whole-system 16 384 B Confirmed Derived Design capacity Computed here from figures the vendor stated Adds 1 memory-capacity figure obtained by design-capacity. Left out: 40 KiB of BIOS and BASIC ROM (read-only firmware, not memory the machine can write to). A total is only as trustworthy as the decision about what belongs in it, so both the terms and the exclusions are named records.
2 documented absences
IBM Personal Computer 5150: system figures: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Clock frequency gpu not applicable The 5150 supports different display adapters, so there is no single system GPU clock. Not stated Vendor-rated Nominal clock Stated by the vendor
Rated power consumption whole-system unknown The source specifies power-supply limits, not a system consumption rating. Not stated Vendor-rated Rated power Stated by the vendor

Figures for its components

1 documented absence
Intel 8088: documented absences
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Peak FP32 rate cpu not applicable The selected 5150 configuration contains no 8087 floating-point coprocessor. Not stated Vendor-rated Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor
IBM PC 5150 system RAM
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity memory 16 KiB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor
IBM PC 5150 firmware ROM
Metric Value Evidence Basis Method Source
Memory capacity memory 40 KiB Confirmed Vendor-rated Design capacity Stated by the vendor

Derived figures and comparisons

Computed by this project rather than read from a source, and recomputed from their inputs on every build.

1 190 000 B/s

Formula
bytes per memory cycle ÷ memory cycle time memory-bandwidth-from-cycle-time v1
Inputs
  • ibm-pc-5150 Memory cycle time: 840 ns
Constants
  • bytes transferred by one processor memory cycle: 1 IBM gives the cycle time as "ns/byte", so the stated processor-generated memory cycle transfers one byte.
Rounding
half-up , 3 significant digits

Divides bytes transferred by one processor memory cycle by the published memory cycle time. The result is an interface ceiling when a manual specifies nanoseconds per byte instead of a transfer rate. It is not measured application throughput: refresh, contention and wait states can consume cycles. Reported to 3 significant digits. That is the precision of the cycle time, because the bytes-per-cycle constant is exact.

16 384 B

Formula
a + b + … sum v1
Inputs
  • ibm-pc-5150-ram Memory capacity: 16 KiB
Rounding
none , 5 significant digits

Adds 1 memory-capacity figure obtained by design-capacity. Left out: 40 KiB (read-only firmware, not memory the machine can write to). A total is only as trustworthy as the decision about what belongs in it, so both the terms and the exclusions are named records.

Sources

Back to top