Home computer
Amstrad CPC 464
A Z80A home computer sold as a complete set, with Locomotive BASIC in ROM, a cassette deck built into the keyboard and its own monitor.
- Manufacturer
- Amstrad
- Released
- June 1984
- Region
- United Kingdom
- Record status
- provisional
An Amstrad CPC 464 with the CTM 640 color monitor it was sold with — the monitor also supplied the computer's power. The screen is showing Arkanoid.
About this machine
Amstrad sold the CPC as one box at a time when rivals expected the buyer to supply a television and a tape recorder. The monitor carried the power supply for the whole machine, so the two parts were not separable.
Configuration
PAL retail machine
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zilog Z80A | Main CPU | 1 | 4 MHz Nominal clock | — |
| Amstrad CPC gate array | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — |
| Amstrad CPC 464 RAM | System memory | 1 | — | 64 KiB shared |
| Amstrad CPC 464 ROM Read-only firmware and BASIC ROM. | System memory | 1 | — | unknown shared |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 4 MHz | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The Amstrad technical specification lists the Z80A clock. |
5 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu provisional | unknown No accepted graphics-clock figure was located in the user guide. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The user guide provides no page-level graphics-clock figure suitable for this record. | |
| Memory bandwidth memory provisional | unknown No accepted memory transfer-rate figure was located in the user guide. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor The user guide provides no memory transfer-rate figure from which bandwidth can be stated. | |
| Sustained FP40 rate whole-system provisional | unknown A Locomotive BASIC result needs a named reproducible benchmark before it can be stated. | Not stated | Measured | Benchmark run Published independently | |
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | unknown No whole-system total can be derived without a verified RAM figure. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor No whole-system memory total can be supported while the verified source provides no RAM figure. | |
| Rated power consumption whole-system provisional | unknown No accepted whole-system power rating was located in the user guide. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor The user guide provides no whole-system power rating. |
Figures for its components
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional | not applicable The Z80A contains no floating-point hardware. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for amstrad-cpc464-z80a:peak-fp32-rate: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending. |
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity memory provisional | 64 KiB | Confirmed | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor The Amstrad technical specification lists the fitted RAM capacity. |
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity memory provisional | unknown No page-level ROM figure has been verified in the cited guide. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor The verified user-guide record does not expose a page-level ROM quotation. |