Personal computer
Acorn Archimedes A310
The first Archimedes, built around Acorn's own ARM2 and running RISC OS from ROM. It put a RISC processor in a home computer years before the idea reached the mainstream.
- Manufacturer
- Acorn Computers
- Released
- June 1987
- Region
- United Kingdom
- Record status
- provisional
An Acorn Archimedes A310, the first machine built around Acorn's own ARM processor, with its keyboard and three-button mouse.
About this machine
Acorn designed its own processor after concluding that nothing on the market was a fit successor to the BBC Micro. The ARM2 it produced was cheap and unusually quick for its transistor count, and the architecture outlived the company that commissioned it.
Configuration
A310 retail configuration
| Component | Role | Count | Clock | Capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acorn ARM2 | Main CPU | 1 | 8 MHz Nominal clock | — |
| Acorn VIDC | GPU | 1 | unknown Nominal clock | — shared |
| Acorn Archimedes A310 RAM | System memory | 1 | — | unknown shared |
| Acorn Archimedes ROM Read-only RISC OS ROM. | System memory | 1 | — | unknown |
Figures for the whole machine
provisional A figure marked provisional is recorded but not accepted: its evidence is unsettled. It may rely on one source, an unconfirmed announcement, or a digit read from a damaged scan. The reason appears under the figure. The catalog shows the figure but never uses it in a multiplier. How records are judged.
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency cpu provisional | 8 MHz | Rumored | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock From community documentation The cited Acorn manual states no clock. Wikipedia gives 8 MHz for the ARM2 in the first machines of this range, this one among them, and the catalog carries it as rumored. | |
| Rated power consumption whole-system provisional | 100 W | Reported | Vendor-rated | Rated power Stated by the vendor This is the continuous output rating of the A500-series power supply, not a measured operating draw. |
3 documented absences
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock frequency gpu provisional | unknown The reviewed manual gives no single nominal graphics-clock figure. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Nominal clock Stated by the vendor The manual lists selectable video clock settings, but no single nominal graphics-clock frequency for the A310. | |
| Memory bandwidth memory provisional | unknown The reviewed manual gives no memory transfer-rate figure. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor The manual says the system uses fast-page DRAM access, but gives no transfer-rate figure from which memory bandwidth can be stated. | |
| Memory capacity whole-system provisional | unknown No whole-system total can be derived without a verified RAM figure. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor No whole-system memory total can be supported while the verified source provides no RAM figure. |
Figures for its components
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peak FP32 rate cpu provisional | not applicable ARM2 has no integrated floating-point hardware; the later FPA is a separate option. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Theoretical peak Stated by the vendor Provisional record for acorn-archimedes-arm2:peak-fp32-rate: the cited primary manual is registered, but its page-level transcription and independent review are still pending. |
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity memory provisional | unknown No page-level RAM figure has been verified in the cited manual. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor The verified archive index does not expose a page-level RAM quotation. |
1 documented absence
| Metric | Value | Evidence | Basis | Method | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory capacity memory provisional | unknown No page-level ROM figure has been verified in the cited manual. | Not stated | Vendor-rated | Design capacity Stated by the vendor The verified archive index does not expose a page-level ROM quotation. |